Registered Charity No. 1157841

British Wildlife Rehabilitation Council


bwrc corvids
bwrc goldfinch




Wildlife legislation has evolved in the UK to promote the conservation of certain species. It generally prevents

the deliberate killing, injuring or taking of a protected wild animal, and puts in place provisions for protected

animals to be taken, for specific purposes, and/or at specific times. Although there have been Acts protecting

some game species, the first main piece of conservation legislation in the UK was the Protection of

Wild Birds Act 1954, revised in 1967.


Over time, it became apparent that other species required protection and the Conservation of Wild Creatures

and Wild Plants Act 1975 came into being. It was then felt that these pieces of legislation should be consolidated

into one new piece of legislation, and so the Wildlife and Countryside Act was born in 1981.

European legislation has also been an important driver of domestic legislation; the Conservation of Wild Birds

(Birds Directive) (79/409/EEC) and the Conservation (Natural Habitats, &c) Directive 1992 (Habitats Directive) (92/43/EEC) are relevant and have been enacted in the UK.


There is some legislation that deals primarily with welfare of wild animals as opposed to conservation and these

are detailed below. There are no specific licences required for wildlife rehabilitation, but there are some licensing issues related to keeping and releasing of rehabilitated wildlife of which all rehabilitators should be aware.


This page provides a summary of the legislation that is pertinent to wildlife rehabilitation. It is recommended that

you should refer back to original legislation for clarification, and the subsequent amendments.

The BWRC would recommend the following website: and although we would state

that the legislation listed may not always be up-to-date, this website does display each act with the relevant amendments, as and when they appear.


Further information on wildlife legislation and licences etc. can also be found at: for England; for Wales; for Scotland.


Following devolution, it should be remembered that some aspects of licensing may vary in Wales,

while Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own legislation and that is also detailed below.


Click on the Act (summary) that you wish to view. 


The Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 (as amended)


Conservation of Habitats and Species Regulations 2010


Protection of Badgers Act, 1992


Deer Act 1991


Conservation of Seals Act 1970


Wild Mammals Protection Act 1996


Animal Welfare Act 2006


Welfare of Animals During Transport Order 2006


Destructive Imported Animals Act 1932


Control of Trade in Endangered Species (Enforcement) Regulations 1997 (COTES)


Veterinary Surgeons Act 1966 (as amended)


Protection of Animals (Anaesthetics) Acts 1954 & 1964


Zoo Licensing Act 1981